GFriend (Hangul: 여자친구; RR: Yeoja Chingu; stylized as GFRIEND) is a six-member South Korean girl group formed by Source Music in 2015. The group consists of Sowon, Yerin, Eunha, Yuju, SinB and Umji. They made their debut with the EP Season of Glass on January 15, 2015. GFriend won several 2015 female rookie awards and has garnered momentum since their debut, despite coming from a small company. In 2016, they continued their success with their third EP Snowflake and won first place on many music shows with the title song “Rough”. They released their first full-length album LOL in July 2016.

Gfriend in 2015
On January 15, 2015, GFriend released their five-track debut EP Season of Glass. The promotional track “Glass Bead” (Hangul: 유리구슬; RR: Yuri Guseul), composed by Seo Yong-bae and Iggy, debuted at number twelve on Gaon’s weekly chart. The group started promotions for their album on January 16 on KBS’s music program Music Bank. According to YouTube, the M/V of “Glass Bead” ranked number nine in top ten “Most Viewed K-Pop Videos Around the World in January 2015”. On January 28, 2015, Billboard named GFriend as one of “Top 5 K-Pop Artists to Watch in 2015”.

GFriend released their second EP Flower Bud and the music video for title track “Me Gustas Tu” (Hangul: 오늘부터 우리는; RR: Oneulbuteo Urineun; lit. “Starting Today, Us”) on July 23, 2015. GFriend started their group promotions on the same date as the album release, July 23, 2015 on Mnet’s M! Countdown.

The group garnered international attention after a fan-taken video of GFriend members continuing and completing a performance of “Me Gustas Tu” despite continuously falling on a slippery stage went viral in September 2015. The group was praised for their professionalism, especially Yuju, who fell a total of eight times and suffered a twisted finger during the performance.

On September 17, 2015, GFriend made headlines again as the only girl group to be nominated in the 2015 MTV Europe Music Awards “Best Korean Act” category alongside boy groups B1A4, BTS, Got7, and VIXX.

2016–present: Snowflake, first music show wins and first studio album Edit
On January 25, 2016, GFriend released their third EP titled Snowflake with the title track “Rough” (Hangul: 시간을 달려서; RR: Siganeul Dallyeoseo; lit. “Running Through Time”). “Rough” is the last song to complete GFriend’s high school concept trilogy along with “Glass Bead” and “Me Gustas Tu”. During their fan-meeting after the EP’s showcase release, GFriend announced their fandom name to be “Buddy” (Hangul: 버디). GFriend started the promotions for Snowflake on January 26 on SBS MTV’s music program The Show. The album debuted at number ten on Billboard’s World Albums Chart, and the music video of “Rough” on YouTube ranked number three in top ten “Most Viewed K-Pop Videos Around the World in January 2016”.

On February 2, GFriend received their first music show win for their song “Rough” on The Show. They subsequently won another fourteen awards on the music shows including winning their first triple crowns on M! Countdown, Music Bank, Show Champion, and Inkigayo. With a total of 15 wins, it placed second with the number of wins for girls groups, behind Apink who recorded a total of 17 wins with “Luv”.

On June 15 it was announced that GFriend will star alongside Mamamoo on a new season of Showtime. On June 29, Source Music started teasing for GFriend’s first studio album LOL, signifying at the same time “Laughing Out Loud” and “Lots of Love”. LOL was released on July 11 with the title track “Navillera” (Hangul: 너 그리고 나; RR: Neo Geurigo Na), and reportedly had more than 60,000 pre-ordered copies worldwide.[18] On July 19, GFriend earned their first music show win for the album’s single “Navillera” on The Show.



Sowon (소원), born Kim So-jung (김소정) on December 7, 1995 (age 20) in Seoul, South Korea.[20]
Yerin (예린), born Jung Ye-rin (정예린) on August 19, 1996 (age 20) in Incheon, South Korea.[20]
Eunha (은하), born Jung Eun-bi (정은비) on May 30, 1997 (age 19) in Seoul, South Korea.[20]
Yuju (유주), born Choi Yu-na (최유나) on October 4, 1997 (age 18) in Ilsan, South Korea.[20]
SinB (신비), born Hwang Eun-bi (황은비) on June 3, 1998 (age 18) in Chungju, South Korea.[20]
Umji (엄지), born Kim Ye-won (김예원) on August 19, 1998 (age 18) in Incheon, South Korea.[20]


image image image image image

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

This theme is sponsored by Things to do in denver along with Adult hits radio, Corporation Offices and logo search